Next up in our state-by-state anthology of claims handling guidelines is the Beaver State – Oregon. Claims handling in Oregon is governed by the Oregon Administrative Rules.

Oregon gives insurance carriers a long time to acknowledge claims as compared to many other states; in Oregon carriers must acknowledge a claim not later than 30 days after receipt of the claim.1 Within those first 30 days they must also provide all necessary claims forms such as a proof of loss.2 They must also reply to all pertinent communications with regards to the claim within 30 days of reciept.3 Thereafter the carrier carrier must complete its investigation of the claim within 45 days.4 If they cannot complete their investigation within 45 days, they must notify the insured of the need for the extra time along with the reasons therefore and continue to so advise every 45 days thereafter.5 They also must advise as to the acceptance or rejection of the claim no later than 45 days after receipt of a proof of loss.6

Additionally, an insurance carrier must not refuse to settle a claim on the grounds that another party may be financially responsible for the loss.7 Finally, if a first-party insured is not represented by an attorney, the insurance carrier must advise them that their claim may be affected by a statute of limitations at least 30 days before it would expire.8

As always, please let me know if you have any questions or requests to move a state up on the list in our 50-state tour. In looking for a video to post related to Oregon, I found that a band I am a fan of, Kutless, originates from Portland, Oregon. Here is one of their inspirational songs:

1 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0225(1).
2 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0225(4).
3 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0225(3).
4 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-230.
5 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0235(4).
6 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0235(4).
7 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0235(5).
8 Or. Admin. R. 836-080-0235(6).