As founder and president of Merlin Law Group, Chip Merlin has dedicated his practice to the representation and advocacy of insurance policyholders in disputes with insurance companies nationwide. Since 1985, Chip has served as a plaintiff’s attorney with a focus on Commercial & Residential Property Insurance Claim Disputes and Bad Faith Insurance litigation. Chip served as Chair for the Bad Faith Insurance Litigation Group for the American Association for Justice (formerly known as The Association of Trial Lawyers of America). He was also Vice-Chair for the Subcommittee on Property Insurance Law for The American Bar Association.

Practice Areas

  • First and Third Party Property Insurance Litigation
  • Bad Faith Insurance Litigation
  • Commercial & Residential Property Insurance Litigation

Bar Admissions

  • Florida
  • Colorado
  • Georgia
  • Oklahoma
  • Mississippi
  • Texas
  • California
  • District of Columbia
  • Illinois
  • Mississippi
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Texas
  • Tennessee

Education

  • J.D., University of Florida College of Law (1982)
  • B.S. (Business Administration), University of Florida (1980)

Professional Associations & Memberships

  • American Association for Justice (President’s Member)
  • American Association for Justice, 1996 – 1998 (Chairman, Bad Faith Insurance Litigation Group
  • American Association for Justice, Fire and Property Insurance Litigation Group, 1993 – 1995 (Secretary)
  • American Bar Association, 1988 – 1998 (Vice Chairman, Subcommittee on Property Insurance Law)
  • National Association of Public Insurance Adjusters (Associate Member)
  • Florida Association of Public Insurance Adjusters (Associate Member)
  • Community Associations Institute (Associate Member)
  • Risk Insurance Management Society (Associate Member)
  • Windstorm Insurance Network (Board Member)
  • Citizen’s Property Insurance Corporation Mission Review Task Force, 2008 (Present Member)
  • Southern Food and Beverage (SOFAB) Board Member

 

Authors

larry
Larry Bache
LBache@MerlinLawGroup.com
813-229-1000
View Bio

JasonCieri-1
Jason Cieri
JCieri@MerlinLawGroup.com
212-351-5017
View Bio

ErinDunnavant                                                                      EdwardEshoo
Erin Dunnavant                                                           Edward Eshoo
EDunnavant@MerlinLawGroup.com                     EEshoo@MerlinLawGroup.com
813-229-1000                                                               312-260-0806
View Bio                                                                         View Bio

JeffGreyber-2                                                                      AshleyHarris
Jeffrey Greyber                                                             Ashley Harris
JGreyber@MerlinLawGroup.com                            AHarris@MerlinLawGroup.com
561-855-2120                                                                813-229-1000
View Bio                                                                         View Bio

CharlesMathis
Charles Mathis
CMathis@MerlinLawGroup.com
732-704-4647
View Bio

ChristinaPhillips
Christina Phillips
CPhillips@MerlinLawGroup.com
312-260-0806
View Bio

PhillipSanov
Phillip Sanov
PSanov@MerlinLawGroup.com
713-626-8880
View Bio

Sean-2                                                                    ShaneSmith-2
Sean Shaw                                                                   Shane Smith
SShaw@MerlinLawGroup.com                              SSmith@MerlinLawGroup.com
813-229-1000                                                             813-229-1000
View Bio                                                                       View Bio

DeniseSze-1                                                                   RobertTroutmann
Denise Sze                                                                  Robert Trautmann
DSze@MerlinLawGroup.com                                RTrautmann@MerlinLawGroup.com
310-229-5961                                                             732-704-4647
View Bio                                                                      View Bio

JenniferVanVoorhis                                                                   NicoleVinson-1
Jennifer Van Voorhis                                               Nicole Vinson
JVanvoorhis@MerlinLawGroup.com                   NVinson@MerlinLawGroup.com
732-704-4647                                                             813-229-1000
View Bio                                                                       View Bio