On July 1, 2020, Wisconsin Act 129 became effective. The Act, which governs public adjusters in Wisconsin, now requires all non-residents to register with the commissioner prior to engaging in adjusting services in Wisconsin. Resident public adjusters may register but are not required to do so.

In order to register, the public adjuster is required to complete an application with the commissioner and meet the following conditions:

  1. The individual has not committed any act subject to penalty under s. 629.13 (violated any insurance law, misappropriated money, been convicted of a felony, etc.)
  2. Payment of fees;
  3. The individual maintains a home office in the individual’s state of residence and is available to the public at that office through reasonable appointment hours or regular business hours;
  4. The individual is at least 18 years of age;
  5. The individual has based a written examination and completed required continuing education; and
  6. If the individual is not a resident of the state, the individual agrees to be subject to the jurisdiction of the commissioner and the courts of the state.

Wisconsin Act 129 also requires that all public adjusters doing business in Wisconsin file a copy of their public adjuster contract template with the Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance. The Act also requires that both resident and non-resident public adjusters supply a bond in a minimum amount of $20,000.

All public adjusters working in Wisconsin are also required to report the following within 30 days:

  • Any administrative action related to the business of insurance that is taken against the public adjuster by a governmental agency or regulatory body. The report shall be made no later than 30 days after the final disposition of the matter and shall include a copy of the order, consent to order, or similar document.
  • Any criminal prosecution taken against the public adjuster in any jurisdiction. The report shall be made no later than 30 days after the date of the initial pretrial hearing and shall include a copy of the complaint, the order from the hearing, and any other information required by the commissioner.

It is also recommended that all adjusters report within 30 days any address changes, name changes, or any other changes that were initially submitted on the original license application.

The full requirements under Act 129 can be found in Chapter 629, Wisconsin Statutes.