As we continue our state-by-state tour of claim handling guidelines we now visit Arizona.

Arizona requires that insurance carriers acknowledge receipt of a claim within 10 working days of the claim being initiated.1 The carrier must also provide all necessary claims forms, instructions and assistance to the claimant promptly.2 They must reply to pertinent claims communications from a claimant within 10 working days.3 They must complete their investigation 30 working days after receipt of the claim.4 If they cannot complete the investigation within that time frame they must advise in writing as to the reasons additional time is needed.5 They must affirm or deny coverage within 15 working days after receiving a proof of loss.6 A carrier must respond to all inquiries from the Department of Insurance within 15 working days of their receipt of the inquiry.7

Additionally, Arizona insurers must pay all first-party claims within 30 days of their receipt of an acceptable proof of loss.8 Finally, they must provide first-party claimants not represented by attorneys with notice their claim may be subject to a statute of limitations 30 days before the expiration of the statue of limitations.9

As always, I hope you find this information useful. If you have any questions or if you want to request we highlight your state next, please feel free to reach out to me.
_______________
1 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(E)(1).
2 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(E)(4).
3 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(E)(3).
4 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(F).
5 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(G)(1)(b).
6 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(G)(1)(a).
7 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(E)(2).
8 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(G)(4).
9 Ariz. Admin. Code § R20-6-801(G)(4).

  • SHIRLEY HEFLIN

    Dear Mr. Trautmann:

    It’s great to see that AZ is “Insured Friendly”. I think requiring carriers to merely acknowledge receipt of a claim within ten days is professional. I also think that requiring carriers to provide the necessary claims forms, instructions and assistance to the Insured “promptly” is beneficial as well!

    Although AZ Insurers have 30 days to pay a claim upon an acceptable Sworn Statement in Proof of Loss is subject to interpretation, two out of three ain’t bad!

    Respectfully,
    SHIRLEY HEFLIN
    Tampa, FL

  • Verinica

    Hi, I filed a claim for hail damage. My insurance company promptly paid however, they made the check out to me and my mortgage co. My issue is with the mortgage co. They keep finding reasons to delay in giving me the money. The claim was for $9,000. They dispersed $2000 of which was half down needed for the roof. The roof work was completed 7/27 and it’s almost a month later and even though they have the inspection report they are delaying in releasing the rest of the money. The roofer keeps calling asking for the rest of what he’s owed. They keep saying I need to send this document or that document and I do but then it’s always something else. PLEASE help.